Posted by: Regina | November 2, 2007

Hilary Swank’s Charity Cut

I saw this posted on the Female First website and it was dated November 1, 2007.  However, I could have sworn I saw a similar report about this on TV a few weeks ago.  She was probably talking about it, and I thought she’d already done it.

No matter because regardless of when she announced her involvement it’s a good cause.

Hilary Swank has had her hair cut off by Oprah Winfrey for charity.

The Oscar-winning actress had nine inches sheared off her shining locks to be made into a wig by Pantene Beautiful Lengths, a charity which supports women who have lost their hair through cancer treatment.

Hilary, 33, said: “I’ve been growing it for the last six months so I could donate it. I’ve been taking a lot of vitamins and taking really good care of it, knowing that it would go to a woman in need.”

Oprah brandished scissors and a ruler as she chopped off the ‘Million Dollar Baby’ star’s hair for her Great American Haircut show which will air in the US tomorrow (02.11.07).

The talk show host said: “It has taken months to get to this moment. It involves a two-time Academy Award winner, a sharp object, and me!”

Hilary had been preparing for the big chop for some time.

She said earlier this month: “I’ve been growing my hair for months, so it’s super long and super healthy

“I’ve gotten my conditioning treatments every four weeks. Everyone is commenting on my hair and how it’s long and pretty and healthy and shiny.”

As another feature in the special show 100 viewers received 100 makeovers in one hour.

Nice to read that a woman dealing with cancer will be able to have something that helps her feel better about the way she looks.

Here is how you can help:

Ways to Help

People can get involved and share their strength in a number of ways. They can donate their hair and join the Pantene Beautiful Lengths Million Inch Chain by uploading photos with their ponytail on http://www.beautifullengths.com. This animated photo string allows visitors to come together to support the cause by showcasing their donation or pledging to donate.

In addition, people can also participate by spreading the word to friends and family, or if they are unable to donate, a portion of proceeds from every Pantene purchase goes to create free wigs for women with cancer.

Pantene Beautiful Lengths only accepts hair donations that are at least 8 inches in length. While hair may be colored with vegetable dyes, rinses and semi-permanent dyes, it cannot be bleached, permanently colored, chemically treated or more than 5 percent gray.

Source: Female First – Hilary Swank charity cut

More Links:
Pantene Beautiful Lengths Blog
Pantene Beautiful Lengths website

Responses

  1. […] Celebrities for Good! […]

  2. LOL…I know. I guess I should put it in brackets that the title is intentional.

    I like the boldness of it and that it’s going to catch people’s attention. However, the flip side is this: comments which assume I’m a bit shaky regarding grammar. I’m sure my former grammar teachers would disagree that it’s “bold”. From that perspective, I ought to consider your correction.


Leave a Reply

Categories

