Posted by: Regina | November 4, 2007

The 17th Annual Divas Simply Singing Event

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

 The Original Dreamgirls at the 2007 Divas Simply Singing fundraiser: Sheryl Lee Ralph, Jennifer Holiday and Loretta Devine

Divas Simply Singing is an annual event. It’s produced and hosted by Sheryl Lee Ralph for 17 years and benefits the Women Alive Coalition, which helps women living with HIV/AIDS, and Balm in Gilead, which has a mission “to improve the health status of people of the African Diaspora by building the capacity of faith communities to address life-threatening diseases, especially HIV/AIDS”. This one is near and dear to me as I used to volunteer with both AIDS Project L.A. and the San Francisco AIDS Foundation. 

The sold out event took place on October 6 at the Wiltern Theater in L.A.  Here is an interesting account from Eugenia Wright, aka Kleopatra Girl, on EurWeb. It’s quite long, so I’ll only quote a short section and you can click the link below to read the rest.

For the finale all the stops were pulled out as original dream girl Loretta Devine took the stage followed by the incomparable Jennifer Holiday. At this point I was again seated in the green room and I exited quickly to see the last number, because I had to see Jennifer Holiday live on stage and not on the green room monitor. I didn’t want anyone or anything to disrupt the moment to see her. I flashed back again to the time I saw her in New York in Dream Girls getting goose bumps all over my body when I heard her sing “I’m Not Going”. A much slimmer now blonde and glamorous Jennifer Holiday, not Effie took the stage and yes, this diva closed out the show with her signature song. At the end of her performance she received a standing ovation, Sheryl Lee Ralph and Loretta Devine joined Jennifer and they held hands. I stood in the back of the theatre with the ushers watching. It was a moving moment as I recalled seeing all of them back in 1981.

Great going ladies!  It was also great to hear about a personal favorite of mine, Ledisi, being there.

Source: EurWeb: http://www.eurweb.com/story/eur37498.cfm

Leave a Reply

Categories

